City Council

The City Council 

The elective officers of the city shall consist of the Mayor and six Council Members.

The Mayor and each Council Member shall be elected from the city at large. The term of office for each Council Member and Mayor shall be three years and shall commence on the next regular Council meeting following the election.

The Council shall exercise all of the legislative and policy-making powers of the city and shall provide for the performance of all duties and obligations imposed upon the city by law.

(Charter of the City of Valdez, Chapter 3 & Valdez Municipal Code, Chapter 2.06)

Current City Council Goals and Priorities Information

Current City Council Members

(Click on Name to View Each Council Member’s Photograph and Biography) 

Member NameTerm NumberTerm Expiration
Mayor Sharon Scheidt
2ndMay 2024

Mayor Pro Tempore Alan Sorum 
3rdMay 2022

Council Member Todd Wegner
1stMay 2024

Council Member Dawson Moore
2ndMay 2024

Council Member Susan Love
1stMay 2023

Council Member Jimmy Devens
1stMay 2023

Council Member Dennis Fleming 
4thMay 2022

Points of Contact

City Clerk, Sheri Pierce, MMC, 907-834-3408 or 

Deputy Clerk, Allie Ferko, MMC, 907-834-3468 or 

Regular Meeting Schedule

7:00 p.m. - First and third Tuesday of each month

Valdez City Council Chambers
212 Chenega Street
Valdez, AK 99686

City Council Agendas, Minutes & Audio Recordings

Click to view Council agenda packets, meeting summaries, approved minutes, and audio.

Agenda packets available prior to meetings and work sessions.

Meeting audio recordings and action summaries posted online following each meeting.

Meeting minutes available following formal Council approval. (Minutes not taken for work sessions.)

City Council Policies and Procedures

Click to view the City Council's Policies and Procedures document (last amended on 09.21.2021).